Euro Trip – Day 4

image

image

image

We left the hotel early to catch our 8:15 boat ride to Venice.

image

When we arrived in the city there were barely any people yet, a few souvenir stands here and there.

image

We went to Piazza San Marco to meet with our guide. (unfortunately I don’t remember her name) She told us all about the architecture and history of Venice. I barely remember them because I kept on taking pictures.

image

Piazza San Marco

image

A part of St. Mark’s Basilica

image

St. Mark’s Campanile

image

St. Mark’s Clock Tower

image

After then short tour we went to the Murano Glass Factory and we were able to see a glass blowing demo. The glass blower made a horse out of a heated glass. First they heat the glass, then they form it, finally they let it cool down. The cooling down takes from 1 to 3 days depending on the size of the object.

It was fun watching the demonstration and they do blow the glass especially if it’s a vase or something like that. They mentioned that glass blowing requires apprenticeship, something you pass down, so most of the time it runs in the family.

image

image

image

image

image

image

After the demonstration we had a few hours til our boat arrives so we had time for lunch and a gondola ride. We went for the gondola ride first. We paid 100 euros as I recall for the gondola ride. The gondola has a capacity of 6 people plus the gondolier so it’s better to maximize that space to save some money.

image

image

image

We went for the longer ride which was for about 45 minutes to 1 hour. The shorter ride was for about 30 minutes and it’s cheaper than the longer ride. It was a nice experience and it has a romantic feel to it. It’s like a leisurely stroll in the canal surrounded by the colorful Venetian houses. Then add the sound of singing gondolier. It would be nice to be there with someone special. :3

image

image

image

image

image

The whole place actually has a romantic feel to it. It’s nice to just walk around going through the passageways and be surprised either by a dead-end or a new street. It seems like a nice thought, to get lost in Venice.

image

My favorite thing about Venice is the masks. My first encounter with the masks is in Macau at the Venetian. It was pretty and expensive. I didn’t have the money for it then so promised myself that someday I’ll buy one. Now that I’m Venice I thought maybe this time I’ll be able to.

I really wanted to buy one, something that stood out. But all of the pretty ones were really expensive.(all of them are expensive -_-) Even though I had the money I was saving it for the other places that we’ll be visiting. So I guess that some day wasn’t today. In the future I’ll be back and I’ll buy THE mask, some day.

image

A little after noon was our boat ride back and we were once again on the road. We were heading for Innsbruck, Austria where we’ll be spending the night.

I enjoyed our dinner that night I believe we had risotto. I was craving for one even before we left for Europe.

