Euro Trip – Day 5

image

We stayed at Innsbruck, Austria for the night. We woke up to a very cold weather. The sky was dark. Compared to Italy it was gloomier in Austria. While having breakfast our group noticed that it was snowing outside. IT WAS SNOWING OUTSIDE! IT WAS SNOWING OUTSIDE AND IT WAS APRIL! Our tour leader told us that it was the first time that he experienced that in his years of managing a tour group. (oh and BTW it was my mother’s birthday)

image

After breakfast we rushed back to our rooms and got our cameras. We took some pictures outside while it was snowing. The first time I experienced snow coming down was when we went to the Grand Canyon. This time it was snowing harder. You could really see the snow whitening the place.

image

image

It was really cold in Austria. I even wore gloves but they didn’t do much in keeping my hands warm. Now I miss the cold weather in Europe. I think I’ll gladly trade the warm weather here along with wearing shorts for the cold weather there and wearing pants.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

We visited the Swarovski factory that day. The crystals were beautiful. My favorite would have to be the Tinker Bell crystal. I wish I had the budget to buy one. I also like the Tinker Bell necklace but I wasn’t really a necklace person. If it had a pair of earrings version I would’ve bought one. Instead I bought a pair of earrings with ear cuffs of some sort. It’s the most expensive souvenir I bought and the most expensive pair of earrings I own.

image

image

After we’ve finished shopping for Swarovski stuff we were on the road again. We were going to Lucern and on our way there we stopped at Liechtenstein for lunch.

image

image

image

image

image

Liechtenstein is a small country like Vatican City. It’s near Switzerland. It’s a lovely place, small and quiet. But there’s not really much to do there.

image

This reminds me of the standard background of the Windows XP

image

The road to Lucerne was filled with greener pastures. Lots of mountains and fields. It’s the country life in Europe.

image

During our stay in Lucerne we stayed at Astoria instead of the hotel where our other tour groupmates are. The other hotel was overbooked so they transferred us to Astoria. It wasn’t that discomforting. What I like most about it was we got a box of Laderach chocolates. It was really good and expensive about 20 euros for a box of 14 (or 20 I don’t remember) chocolates.

We were able to walk around the city during the afternoon when we arrived. But I wished we were also able to see the place during night time. One of our tour groupmates took this amazing picture of Lucerne at night. It looked like something from a post card. After Lucerne I made sure I wasn’t going to miss out on the beauty of the cities during night time. More of this in our stay in Amsterdam and Paris.

