Euro Trip – Day 6

image

I look ridiculous. But it’s not everyday I get to lie down on a mountain of snow.

image

image

Going to Mt. Titlis was the highlight of the day. The peak was about 10,000 feet above the ground and to reach it had to ride about 3 different cable cars.

image

image

During our first ride we met a German girl who was going there to ski. Unfortunately she didn’t speak English so we weren’t able to converse with her. It was my first time seeing skiing stuff and what struck me most was the shoes that they use. They were ski boots. It was really big and bulky looking. Our tour group manager told us that we should be careful about getting stepped on by that. He said it would feel like getting stepped on by a cow which sounds extremely painful so the shoes are probably heavy as well.

image

When we reached the top what we first did was go out in the open and enjoy the snow. It was incredibly freezing outside and my hands felt numb. Despite the freezing temperature I still decided to lie down on the snow and make a snow angel which is something I’ve always wanted to do. I lay down on the snow and started moving my arms and legs and eventually snow started getting in my boots which was uncomfortable because what’s worse than numb hands are numb feet.

image

I also wanted to try the snowball experience or making a snowman but failed at it miserably. The snow was a bit hard not the powdery kind I expected so it was much harder to gather some in order to create a ball of some kind. Plus it was freezing so I could only hold the snow for less than a minute.

image

Going back my bones ached miserably like an old person. I’m not sure if it’s because of the cold or my bones are just weak. When we got back inside we hurriedly looked for a way to heat up. We went to the food place which was probably hottest place up there and that wasn’t even enough for me. We decided to get something hot, I bought a hot chocolate which I think was expensive but didn’t taste like anything special. But then again I guess when you’re freezing up in the mountains a hot chocolate is some sort of a privilege. They were also selling some ice cream and I really wanted to try some but I was really REALLY COLD :3

image

After resting we explored the place some more. There were still some things we weren’t able to do like explore the ice caves, go on a cliff walk and ride the ice flyer. Before we went up Mt. Titlis I really wanted to ride the ice flyer but (I’m going to say it again) it was freezing. We were only able to explore the ice caves compared to the other two activities it wasn’t as freezing to go to the ice cave.ย In the ice cave there were some ice sculptures. I took a picture with the polar bear sculpture. :3

image

image

image

image

Around 1PM we regrouped and went down the mountain. We went back to Lucerne and had some free time to do some shopping. After doing a little of that we went sightseeing and walked around for a while.ย It was a bit expensive in Lucerne but it’s one of the safest place we went to. It was also a bit cold in the area.

image

I was able to buy a Swiss knife in Lucerne. It was really pretty and I was really excited to use it. But I didn’t get to. When we were about to leave for Manila the Swiss knives we bought were forgotten and was left on our carry on suitcase. You can’t have any sharp objects on your carry on suitcase so the airport security asked us to leave it behind. (Our baggage were already checked in so we couldn’t check it in.)

 

