Euro Trip – Day 8

image

Amsterdam at Night (BW)

image

On our way to Amsterdam we took a Rhine River Cruise from St. Goar to Boppard. It was a short boat tour where in from the deck we are able to view some of the castles near the area. It was extremely windy and cold at the deck. It takes a great amount of force to open the door because the wind is blowing so strongly.

image

The view from the deck

image

image

Our arrival at Boppard

image

When we arrived at Boppard to make up for not going to be able to visit the tulip farm near Amsterdam we took some pictures with these block of tulips.

image

Amsterdam has got to be the second place I’m most excited about during our trip to Europe. It’s mainly because of John Green’s book The Fault In Our Stars which at first I wasn’t too crazy about when I first read it.

image

It was almost evening when we arrived in Amsterdam. Our hotel was located outside of the city not just because the hotels in the main area is guaranteed to be more expensive but because there’s a good chance that we might bump into someone who’s high or something like that.

image

In order to maximize our stay we decided to explore Amsterdam after dinner. We took a shuttle from our hotel (Hotel Schiphol A4) and we were dropped off at the Schipol Airport.

image

At the airport we rode a rail to Amsterdam Centraal from there we walked.

image

We passed by Dam Square which was still very much alive. There was like a fair. It seemed fun from where I was watching. There were those killer rides and you could here people screaming from exhilaration or possibly fear as well. There were those mini games on the side.

image

I just stood there across the street, taking pictures of and with it.

I wish someday I could go back here and be able to actually participate and enjoy the fun happening around me not just watch it all transpire.

image

We headed to the Jordaan District next. Because we won’t be able to actually go in Anne Frank’s House (because we decided to go to the Van Gogh Museum) we decided to pass by instead.

image

On our way there we saw a statue of Anne Frank which had fresh flowers offered to it.

Anne Frank’s House. It’ such a shame that we had to pick between this and the Van Gogh Museum. If only we had enough time for both.

image

During our night excursion I was able to practice my night time shooting. I had to go manual on the ISO settings, the value greatly affected the picture. I really need to work on stabilizing my hands. My hands are always so shaky it doesn’t really normally show because I mostly take shots in well lit places or with a flash but when I was trying to capture Amsterdam at night I had some problems with the shots that I took.

image

I loved taking pictures of the canal from the bridge. The lights reflected on the water reminded me of the reflection of the stars on the water in Van Gogh’s Starry Sky Over the Rhone.

image

image

image

On our way back, while waiting for the shuttle going back to the hotel, we took some pictures using some kind of photobooth.

image

It was a tiring but fun experience discovering the city on our own.

