Euro Trip – Day 9

Every day of our tour was something to look forward to. For our day in Amsterdam we started with a trip to a Cheese and Wooden Clog Factory. This is like heaven for me. Cheese ❀

image

image

First they showed us how they make wooden clogs the traditional way. It was an interesting demo.

image

image

 

Then of course an obligatory tourist pic with this windmill (which is a rare find in the area these days because they’ve been replaced with a modern windmill) and giant clogs.

image

image

 

We were led inside the factory for the another demo on how they make wooden clogs now. The whole room was filled with clogs from the wearable ones to the souvenir type ones.

image

image

image

 

Next was the cheese making demo which I was very much looking forward to. Aside from telling us their cheese making process. The person also told us some facts about cheese like how to properly store one when it hasn’t been “opened” yet and when it has been.

image

 

After that we were free to roam around and buy stuff. They were giving loads of cheese to taste. I was feeling shy and only got a few slices. Unfortunately we only bought 1 pack of gouda cheese. I don’t remember what was on my mind when I decided to only buy one. It was a stupid decision. The cheese was so good we (or most likely I) finished it in less than a month. I prefer the young cheese compared to the old one. I like it creamy rather than dry and hard that’s why we bought the not aged Gouda instead of the aged ones.

image

image

image

 

Next we went to a Diamond Museum. Pricey stuff. Apparently a girl’s best friend. I’d rather be best friends with a book. But diamonds are really pretty stuff. There were different types and their prices depended on the 4 Cs color, clarity, cut and carat.

image

 

We took a Canal Cruise after. It was very informative. We were also able to chance upon a lot of beautiful scenery during the cruise. Unfortunately I wasn’t able to take any pictures during the ride because I wasn’t able to sit near the window.

image

image

After the cruise we headed across the street to the Heineken Experience. Honestly I’m not a beer person so I wasn’t able to fully utilize this opportunity to enjoy a glass beer. Since we were in a hurry to make it to Van Gogh Museum we skipped most of the history and trivia part of the Heineken experience.

image

image

image

 

We only waited in line for ‘The Brew You Ride’ which was the main event of this sight. It was like a 4D experience of how they make beer and it’s like your the beer being brewed. After that we each were given a glass of beer (YEY! for beer lovers) and we could also claim a couple more glasses 2 I think still included in the package.

image

 

Then we were on our way to the Van Gogh Museum. This trip was just with me and my family. Since we knew that we were going to have some free time during our day in Amsterdam I decided that we go to an attraction. It was either Anne Frank’s house or the Van Gogh Museum ultimately I chose Van Gogh over Anne because I read somewhere that the lines were worse in Anne Frank’s house. We were able to make reservations so that we’ll be able to skip the lines which was great because the line was quiet long.

image

image

image

I think the best part about doing this is that we were able to feel the city more. Instead of being on a bus and just seeing the city pass by you, we got to walk in the city commute and feel how it really is when you’re there.

image

 

It was fun going to the Van Gogh Museum and definitely a fresh experience. It’s not everyday that I get to go to a museum. There’s some here in the Philippines but it isn’t really people’s priority to go to one. I’m not sure but in some countries I think they have better appreciation of art and it has a bigger part of their daily lives.Β I was looking forward to seeing a painting of ‘Sunflowers’ but it was in another museum in London.

image

 

We went to the restaurant where we’ll be having our dinner and after than we went back to our hotel.

 

