Euro Trip – Day 11

image

“If you are lucky enough to have lived in Paris as a young man, then wherever you go for the rest of your life, it stays with you, for Paris is a moveable feast.” 

The last day of our tour.

image

image

image

It was drizzling that day and eventually it turned into a full on rain. It was a good thing we were on a bus but then again the best way to explore Paris is walking.

image

We first stopped at Arc de Triomphe one of the many famous landmarks in Paris.

image

Part of it is under restoration.

image

We only got to take a picture up to this distance. It would’ve been awesome to be in the middle of the road and directly centered to the Arc. Also that would’ve been dangerous.

image

Our next stop was the outside of Musee de Lourve which also had a recreation of the Arc de Triomphe.

image

This was what was on the inner surface of the arc.

image

We also went to entrance of Musee de Lourve and had our picture taken next to the inverted pyramid.

image

After that we were on our way to Paris’ infamous landmark, La Tour d’Eiffel.

image

We passed by Notre Dame and Musee d’Orsay.

image

We went up to the 2nd level of the Eiffel Tower and it was a breathtaking view of the city.

We had our free time after the Eiffel Tower while the rest chose to spend it mainly on Galeries Lafayette. I chose to spend it on seeing Paris on foot.

My mom accompanied me as I ventured to Paris’ left bank. We did a lot of walking which was taxing if your wearing boots (with heels.)

image

We got a slightly closer look at Notre Dame and I was able to visit the bookstore heaven, Shakespeare and Company Bookshop. ❤

image

Unfortunately they didn’t allow photography inside but it was okay. I totally understand the sacredness of the books. I was able to go to the section wherein they kept the old books. It was amazing just looking at them.

image

I decided to buy a book, something I don’t see very often in bookstores here in the Philippines and something related to Paris. I chose George Orwell’s Down and Out in Paris and London. I still haven’t finished it yet but it’s in my pile.

image

On our way back to the Galeries Lafayette we passed by the bouquinistes they are booksellers of used and antique books according to Wikipedia but they also sell other things such as paintings and postcards, tourist-y stuff.

I bought the cheap painting (the mass produced printed type). It’s a shame but I didn’t have enough money for the real goodies. (I still haven’t hung them, they kept falling down when i tried to tape them on my wall.)

image

At Galeries Lafayette, I had my first taste of Pierre Herme. The flavors were interesting and they were different from the ones I’ve tried here before. It was quite pricey too but definitely worth it. I kept the sticker as a souvenir.

image

I also got to try Laduree’s macarons. I bought a box at the airport and when I tasted the salted caramel macaron I knew I had to buy more. I have got to say that Laduree’s salted caramel macarons are my favorite. ❤

image

Before having dinner we stopped by Trocadero, where we also went the other night, to get a better view of the Eiffel Tower and a group picture.

I finally got to writing this part of the trip. I hate endings but as they say things have to end in order for new things to begin. My new adventures await. Paris, I’ll be back.

Leave a Reply

