Be a Wanderer: Cambodia 2015 Part 3 – Sunset Quad Bike Tour

It’s a good thing Smarty’s a great driver! He got us back at our place at around 5PM. Just in time for our service from Cambodia Quad Bike to pick us up from Purple Mangosteen.

IMG_4250

We rushed to the venue since we were chasing the sun. Before letting us loose with the quad bike, they taught us how to operate the bike and mentioned a couple of reminders. We were also able to practice driving the bike for a few minutes. Good thing we had sunglasses the road was a bit dusty so to avoid get dusts in our eyes we wore them during the ride.

I’ve operated a quad bike before when we vacationed at Boracay a few years ago. The mechanics are slightly different but fairly simple. What I didn’t expect was it became a bit tiring for my arms after a few minutes of driving around with the quad bike. It’s a good thing that we were riding in tandem which means there’s two people in a bike so we got to switch once in a while. During those moments I was able to relax and freely admire the sunset.

CAMBODIA-0037
Group Picture! #TeamChill #TeamAngkorWhut #CALMbodia

It was a good experience seeing the countryside of Siem Reap. The sun was slowly setting. You can see the sky changing colors from a orange to pink to indigo. You finally feel the cool breeze after a long day. It was a perfect activity to end our day.

Photo 21-10-2015, 9 38 07 PM.jpgPhoto 21-10-2015, 9 34 57 PM.jpgWe had dinner at Red Piano Restaurant which was near Pub Street. It’s famous for having served Angeline Jolie a few years back when she was shooting Tomb Raider in Cambodia. We were eating Cambodian cuisine again though Red Piano also serves Western dishes in case you want a change of flavor. I was able to taste their Beef Lok Lak and it’s one of the best ones I’ve tasted in my stay in Siem Reap the beef was tender and flavorful. I ordered the Khmer steak with the Au Poivre sauce but I preferred the Blue Cheese sauce which my friend ordered. It was creamy and sometimes a bit heavy so I switched sauces every after few bites. The prices were fair considering that the serving portions were plenty and the food was good.

IMG_4581.JPG

After dinner we tried looking around for souvenirs at the Night Market. There are a lot of things out there such as the typical key chain, wallet, coin purse, t shirt, and ref magnets. I wanted to buy something special and not easily recognizable but still affordable. We came across these round fans. You open the fan and it becomes a circle not like the usual half moon shape of a fan. We don’t really have that here in the Philippines so I bought some to give as a souvenir. It provided to be useful as well for the Cambodian heat. My friends bought some loose pants from one of the stalls since i already have one I bought a skirt instead which had a nice pattern. I also bought a scarf in case I need to cover up for the temples that we’ll be visiting the following day.

Credits:

For the Sunset Quad Bike Tour photos

  • Ian Clarito
  • Nat Chu
