Be a Gamer: Game of Thrones – A Telltale Games Series

Are you an avid fan of the Game of Thrones? Have you ever watched the series and agonized while the character you love makes the worst decision of his/her life? Cause I have and most of the time it’s frustrating watching this show.

 So I stumbled upon this game on the App Store. I’ve tried other GOT games that try to emulate the GOT experience trying to put the gamers in the center  of the politics of the series through quests. But they weren’t as immersive A Telltale Game Series’ Game of Thrones.

A Telltale Game Series'(ATGS moving forward) Game of Thrones’ highlight is the decision making power of the player and the effect of those decisions to the story line as it moves along.

 The game also has a good narrative and characters much like the series. After several minutes playing as Ethan in the game, I’m already attached to his character. In this game, compared to ATGS The Walking Dead, you get to play as different characters. The players are thrown into the lives of the House Forrester, a family of minor nobility and loyal bannermen of the House Stark.


The game starts around the time of the Red Wedding. Because of a series of events the house loses it’s head and to replace the head of the House Forrester is the young Ethan Forrester.

The player gets to play as Ethan as he tries to maintain the footing of House Forrester after they lost with the Starks during the War of the Five Kings. During this period they had to adjust to the ruling of the Boltons in their area. Aside from Ethan, we get to play as Mira Forrester, Ethan’s sister and a handmaiden to Margaery Tyrell, who’s supporting the family from Kings Landing and Gared Tuttle, a squire to the late head of the house, who’s one of the loyal servants of the house.

Another thing I like about the game is the fact that the voice actors for the characters from the series are the actual actors that played them. I think it adds blending to the story in the series and the game. Like they all exist in one universe and what’s happening in the series is actually relevant or connected to the storyline of the game. It kind of gives me some sense of continuity. The game is like a spinoff to the original series.

 The first episodes free in the App Store and I’ve played through it. I tried to avoid saying as much spoilers as possible. Of course the rest of the episodes will cost you. It’s $19.99 for episodes 2-6. That’s the whole first season. I found the price a bit expensive so I wasn’t really planning on buying the game. I was either gonna read the entire story in Wikipedia or watch a playthrough on youtube (much like what I did with Life Is Strange.) Fortunately they offer the game in other platforms and the PC version was on sale at Steam. I got the entire season for Php 258.38. Not bad compared to $19.99. Although it lost its portability. I think that’s best for my iPhone and me. I got a bit worried cause I was playing using my iPhone the game really caused my phone to heat up. Sometimes I’d remove the casing so that it can breath a bit but it’s still hot to touch until minutes after closing the app.

At one point I didn’t want to play or watch the game progress anymore because I was getting sentimental about seeing them all die which is what GOT usually does with its lovable characters.

The game’s available on the following platforms:

  • iOS
  • Android
  • PC
  • Mac
  • PS4
  • PS3
  • XBox One
  • XBox 360

If you’re interested I suggest getting it on Steam while they’re on sale. The sale ends on January 5. 😊

Leave a Reply

