Be a Foodie: Wasai

Because of my recent trip to Taiwan I’ve been craving for a Peanut Ice Cream Roll which I was able to try at Shifen Old Street. I only ate it once but I really enjoyed it. I discovered that Wasai, a recently opened stall here in the Metro Manila, sells it! Fortunately I was in UP Town Center last Satuday because that’s where the Wasai stall is.

Peanut Ice Cream Roll from Taiwan

Wasai offers two sizes of peanut ice cream roll, the regular size priced at Php 80 and the mini size priced at Php 60. I got the mini size since I was just trying it out. I got to choose 2 ice cream flavors to put in my roll (you get to choose 3 for the regular size)


They have a variety of flavors available namely Vanilla, Taro, Strawberry, Java Chip, Salted Caramel, and Matcha. The usual ones in Taiwanese stalls are the Vanilla and Taro. I chose Strawberry and Salted Caramel. It’s also your choice if you want cilantro on your roll or not. (Good for those who are not a fan of this herb but personally I like cilantro)


I tried my roll and it wasn’t exactly like the one I tried in Taiwan. The flavors are kind of off, probably because I chose a different combination of flavors,and texture of the wrap feels different.

I was a bit disappointed that I was not able to replicate my experience from Taiwan but I think I’ll give it another shot and try it with the traditional ice cream flavor combination. Kudos to Wasai for bringing this amazing Taiwanese snack here in the Philippines! πŸ™‚

Wasai  Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

